City of Reno

Staff Report

Staff Report (For Possible Action): Discussion and potential reappointment/appointment of up to four individuals to the Youth City Council from the following pool of applicants, listed in alphabetical order: Anonti Ali (Ward 2), Emily Keller (Washoe County), Aayan Patel (Washoe County) and/or Abigail Villa (reappointment - Ward 4).


Department:City ClerkSponsors:
Category:Boards and Commission Appointments

Recommendation and Proposed Motion

Recommendation:  Staff recommends that the Mayor and Council make the necessary reappointment/appointments as noted in the staff report.


Proposed Motion:  I move to reappoint/appoint _____, _____, _____ and/or _____ to the Youth City Council.

Staff Report Formal Body

Summary:  The term of Abigail Villa (Ward 4) on the Youth City Council is due to expire.  She is eligible for and interested in reappointment.  The term of reappointment is for the period February 1, 2018, through January 31, 2020.


In addition, there are currently seven vacancies on the Youth City Council (YCC) for residents of the City of Reno, and five vacancies for residents/non-residents.  To date we have received three applications from Anonti Ali (Reno resident - Ward 2), Emily Keller (Washoe County), and Aayan Patel (Washoe County).  The term of appointment is for the period February 1, 2018, through January 31, 2020.


Background:  The YCC consists of 15 members, 10 of whom must be residents of the City of Reno.  Members must be between 14 and 18 years of age at the time of appointment, and must remain enrolled or be home schooled in either high school, trade school, community college or a university located or administered within Washoe County.


Method of Appointment:  Appointed by City Council. 


Financial Implications:  None at this time.


Legal Implications:  Nevada Open Meeting Law requirements apply to any committee appointed by the Council.

Meeting History

Jan 10, 2018 10:00 AM Video Reno City Council Regular

Abigail Villa was reappointed and Anonti Ali, Emily Keller and Aayan Patel were appointed to the Youth City Council.

MOVER:Oscar Delgado, Councilmember
SECONDER:Naomi Duerr, Councilmember
AYES:Hillary Schieve, Jenny Brekhus, Naomi Duerr, Oscar Delgado, Paul McKenzie, Neoma Jardon, David Bobzien