City of Reno

Staff Report

Staff Report (For Possible Action): Discussion and potential appointment of up to two individuals to the Financial Advisory Board from the following pool of applicants, listed in alphabetical order: Jonathan Burke, Stef Carmichael, Andrew Caudill and/or Jesse Hurley.


Department:City ClerkSponsors:
Category:Boards and Commission Appointments

Recommendation and Proposed Motion

Recommendation:  Staff recommends that the Mayor and Council make the necessary appointment(s) as noted in the staff report.


Proposed Motion:  I move to appoint _____ and/or _____ to the Financial Advisory Board.

Staff Report Formal Body

Summary:  There are currently two vacancies on the Financial Advisory Board.  Four applications have been received from Jonathan Burke, Stef Carmichael, Andrew Caudill, and Jesse Hurley.  The period of appointment for one of the positions is January 10, 2018, through November 18, 2019 (to fill an unexpired term).  The period of appointment for the second position is January 10, 2018, through January 20, 2020 (to fill an unexpired term).


On Thursday, December 7, 2017, the Financial Advisory Board (FAB) unanimously passed a motion to recommend the appointment of Jonathan Burke to the Financial Advisory Board. The FAB is scheduling additional interviews to make a recommendation for the second vacancy.


Background:  The Financial Advisory Board was created under RMC 2.08.380 - 2.08.476, and consists of 11 members.  The City Manager and Finance Director serve as advisory members.  Vacancies are filled by the Council for a term of five years.  No member may serve more than two terms.


Method of Appointment:  Appointed by City Council.


Financial Implications:  None.


Legal Implications:  Nevada Open Meeting Law requirements apply to any committee appointed by the Council.


Meeting History

Jan 10, 2018 10:00 AM Video Reno City Council Regular

Jonathan Burke was appointed to the Financial Advisory Board.

MOVER:Jenny Brekhus, Councilmember
SECONDER:David Bobzien, Councilmember
AYES:Hillary Schieve, Jenny Brekhus, Naomi Duerr, Oscar Delgado, Paul McKenzie, Neoma Jardon, David Bobzien