City of Reno

Staff Report

Staff Report (For Possible Action): Discussion and potential reappointment/appointment of: 1) an arts educator, 2) an artist, 3) an architect or designer, and/or 4) a representative of business and the community at large to the Reno Arts and Culture Commission from the following pool of applicants, listed in alphabetical order: Megan Bavaro, Bryce Chisholm, Mercedes de la Garza, Doug Erwin (reappointment), Erik Fong, Allison Harting, Mia Hanak, Jack Hawkins, Baron Hershberger, Remi Jourdan, Colton Morano, Dana Moreland, Margot Murray, Joe Nannini, Maria Partridge (reappointment), Melanie Rudnick, Michael Schneider, Sarah Scott, Cheron Taylor, and/or Jesse Woods.


Department:City ClerkSponsors:
Category:Boards and Commission Appointments

Recommendation and Proposed Motion

Recommendation:  Staff recommends that the Mayor and Council make the necessary reappointments/appointments as noted in the staff report.


Proposed Motion:  I move to reappoint/appoint _____, _____, _____, and/or _____ to the Reno Arts and Culture Commission.

Staff Report Formal Body

Summary:  The appointments of Doug Erwin (representative of business and the community at large) and Maria Partridge (arts educator) have expired.  Both are eligible for and interested in reappointment.  The term of reappointment/appointment is for the period November 8, 2017, through October 31, 2020.


In addition, there are currently two vacancies on the Reno Arts and Culture Commission, one for an artist, and one for an architect or designer.  We have received applications from Megan Bavaro (arts educator), Bryce Chisholm (artist), Mercedes de la Garza (architect), Erik Fong (architect), Allison Harting (artist), Mia Hanak (business and community at large), Jack Hawkins (architect), Baron Hershberger (architect), Remi Jourdan (artist), Colton Morano (business and community at large), Dana Moreland (business and community at large), Margot Murray (artist), Joe Nannini (arts educator), Melanie Rudnick (business and community at large), Michael Schneider (business and community at large), Sarah Scott (artist), Cheron Taylor (artist) and Jesse Woods (business and community at large).  The term of appointment for the artist is November 8, 2017 through July 31, 2020 (to fill an unexpired term).  The term of appointment for the architect or designer is November 8, 2017, through June 30, 2018 (to fill an unexpired term).


The Arts and Culture Commissioners recommend the reappointment of Doug Erwin and Maria Partridge and the appointment of Bryce Chisholm (artist) and Erik Fong (architect) to the Reno Arts and Culture Commission.


Background:  Pursuant to RMC 2.08.770 - 2.08.780, the RACC consists of eleven members who are registered voters and reside in the Truckee Meadows area, a majority of whom shall reside and be registered voters in the City of Reno.  The commission is to consist of at least one architect or designer, one arts educator, and one professional artist. The remaining members shall represent business and the community at large.


Members of the RACC are appointed to terms of three years and each commission member may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.


Method of Appointment:  Members shall be appointed by the City Council as a whole.  The Arts and Culture Commissioners provide a recommendation.


Financial Implications:  None.


Legal Implications:  Nevada Open Meeting Law requirements apply to any committee appointed by the Council.

Meeting History

Nov 8, 2017 12:00 PM Video Reno City Council Regular