City of Reno

Staff Report

Staff Report (For Possible Action): Discussion and potential reappointment/appointment of three individuals to the Reno Arts and Culture Commission from the following pool of applicants, listed in alphabetical order: Dave Aiazzi (appointment), Eric Brooks (appointment), Michelle Fabiano (appointment), Dana Hatjakes (appointment), Kristin Heavey (appointment), Nicholas-Martin Kearney (appointment), Geralda Miller (appointment), Nicole Miller (appointment), Michael Moreno (appointment), Nancy Pearl (reappointment), Randy Pease (appointment), Neva Rodrigues (appointment) and/or Kimberlee Tolkien (appointment).


Department:City ClerkSponsors:
Category:Boards and Commission Appointments

Recommendation and Proposed Motion

Recommendation:  To fill all vacancies on the RACC, three separate motions should be made.  Staff recommends that the Mayor and Council make the necessary reappointment/appointments as noted in the Staff Report.


Proposed Motion: 

I move to reappoint/appoint ______ to the RACC; AND

I move to appoint _____ to fill the unexpired term on the RACC; AND

I move to appoint _____ to the RACC.

Staff Report Formal Body

Summary:  Nancy Pearl’s appointment to the Reno Arts and Culture Commission (RACC) is due to expire.  She has served one full term on the RACC, and is eligible for and interested in reappointment.  The term of reappointment is for the period August 1, 2016 through July 31, 2019.


Also, there are currently two vacancies on the RACC.  We have received 12 applications from Dave Aiazzi, Eric Brooks, Michelle Fabiano, Dana Hatjakes, Kristin Heavey, Nicholas-Martin Kearney, Nicole Miller, Geralda Miller, Michael Moreno, Randy Pease, Neva Rodrigues and Kimberlee Tolkien.  The term of appointment for one of the positions is August 1, 2016 through August 31, 2017 (to fill an unexpired term); the term of appointment for the second position is for the period August 1, 2016 through July 31, 2019.


The Commissioners recommend the reappointment of Nancy Pearl and appointment of Dana Hatjakes and Michael Moreno to the Reno Arts and Culture Commission.


Background:  Pursuant to RMC 2.08.770 - 2.08.780, the RACC consists of nine members who are registered voters and reside in the Truckee Meadows area, a majority of whom shall reside and be registered voters in the City of Reno.  The commission is to consist of at least one architect or designer, one arts educator, and one professional artist. The remaining members shall represent business and the community at large.


Members of the RACC are appointed to terms of three years and each commission member may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.


Financial Implications:  None.


Legal Implications:  Nevada Open Meeting Law requirements apply to any committee appointed by the Council.


Meeting History

Jul 27, 2016 10:00 AM Video Reno City Council & Redevelopment Agency Board Joint Regular


Mayor Schieve requested consideration of expanding membership on the Commission to eleven (11) members.

Council Member Duerr said that she would look into amending the by-laws accordingly.

Nancy Pearl was reappointed to the Reno Arts and Culture Commission.

MOVER:Naomi Duerr, Councilmember
SECONDER:Oscar Delgado, Councilmember
AYES:Hillary Schieve, Naomi Duerr, Oscar Delgado, Paul McKenzie, Neoma Jardon
ABSENT:Jenny Brekhus, David Bobzien